Wednesday, June 2, 2010

FDC from South Korea/FDC de la Corée du Sud

Korea´s Skating Victories at the Vancouver Olympic Winter Games/
Victoires de la Corée du patinage à Vancouver Jeux Olympiques d'hiver

In the breathtaking moment of the deciding event, Koreans tightly held hands, fretting that Kim Yu Na might fall during the triple lutz–triple toeloop combination jump. Becoming one with the skaters who raced the clock in a dash toward the finish line, we pushed our will onto the ice chanting “one two, one two.” In the Vancouver Olympic Winter Games where all the Korean people cheered in one voice, the Korean athletes showed incredible flair as if they were repaying the Korean people’s ardent cheering. Kim Yu Na, who with impeccably perfect form rose to the position of the undisputed queen of world figure skating. Mo Tae Bum, Lee Seung Hoon, and Lee Sang Hwa who emerged as new hopes in speed skating. Lee Jung Su, Sung Si Bak, Lee Ho Suk, Kwak Yoon Gy, Kim Seoung Il, Lee Eun Byul, and Park Seung Hi who carried on Korea’s rightful reputation as the global power in short-track. The other 35 members of the Korean representative team also showed the beauty of putting forth their best efforts to the very last moment. Thanks to all of them, Korea was able to achieve its best record in history with 6 gold medals, 6 silver medals, 2 bronze medals and win golden medals in the 3 events of figure skating, speed skating and short track speed skating, rising high as a new, skating power. The 11 Vancouver heroes who won medals are introduced through commemorative stamps, sending loud applause to all 46 athletes who endured lengthy periods of patience and pain, falling dozens, or hundreds or thousands of times on the ice. The deeply touching moments of gazing at the Taegeukgi, the national flag of Korea, rising to the top of the Olympic victory stand will be cherished for a long, long time in our hearts.

No comments: